

Association of American Geographers

1710 Sixteenth Street Northwest Washington, DC 20009-3198 Voice 202-234-150 Fax 202-234-2744 gaia@aag.org http://www.aag.org

AAG Councillors

President

Eric Sheppard University of California Los Angeles

Vice President

Julie Winkler Michigan State University

Secretary

Jenny Zorn California State University San Bernardino

Treasurer

Marilyn Raphael University of California Los Angeles

Past President

Audrey L. Kobayashi Queen's University

Derek Alderman University of Tennessee

Ron Hagelman Texas State University

John Harrington, Jr. Kansas State University

Thomas Maraffa Youngstown State University

Bryon Middlekauff Plymouth State University

Marilyn Raphael University of California Los Angeles

> Bradley Rundquist University of North Dakota

> > Grant Saff Hofstra University

Michael Scott Salisbury University

Laura Smith Macalester College

Karen Till National University of Ireland Maynooth

> James Tyner Kent State University

Elizabeth A. Wentz Arizona State University

> Richard A. Wright Dartmouth College

Jenny Zorn California State University San Bernardino

> Executive Director Douglas Richardson

November 7, 2012

Dawn Wright
Environmental Systems Institute
ESRI
380 New York St.
Redlands CA. 97331

Dear Dawn,

I am pleased to inform you that upon recommendation of the AAG Honors Committee, the AAG Council has selected you to receive the **Distinguished Teaching Honors of the Association of American Geographers for 2013.**

The AAG will confer its Honors and Awards at the Annual Meeting Awards Luncheon, which will be held on **Saturday, April 13, 2013** from **noon to 2 p.m.**at the conference in Los Angeles. I hope that you and a companion will be the Association's guests at the luncheon so you can personally accept this Honor. I would be grateful if you would let us know whether or not you are able to attend. Please RSVP to me or Reacha O'Neal at (202) 234-1450 or roneal@aag.org.

Enclosed is a copy of the citation provided by the AAG Honors Committee to accompany your award. Congratulations on the AAG Honors, and best wishes for continued success in your work.

Sincerely,

Douglas Richardson

Executive Director

Distinguished Teaching Honors - Dawn Wright

.

Dawn J. Wright is Chief Scientist for ESRI, developing their ocean GIS initiative, as well as Professor of Geosciences at Oregon State University. Dr. Wright views herself as a scientist working within and between the areas of geographic information science, marine science, and ocean informatics. Dawn is a star in her outreach to the larger community, including her interactions with school children and her interest in encouraging more young women to pursue careers in science. It is no surprise that she has been featured in the national media and has been featured in Leon Lederman's Portraits of Great American Scientists.

"Deepsea Dawn" delights in serving as a role model encouraging female and minority students to consider a career in ocean science. She has attracted a large contingent of students to her classes and she has supervised an unusually high number of theses and doctorates. Dawn offers a strong and thoughtful commitment to teaching and mentoring of students. Dawn has attended a number of short courses to stay up-to-date with current techniques in the rapidly changing fields of GIS and ocean science, and has applied those to her teaching. She also has served on a multitude of local, regional, national, and international committees in geography and in marine science...and those experiences have also been communicated to legions of students. Her professional seagoing experience is remarkable and affords her the opportunity to bring first-hand experience into the classroom, a critical element of successful teaching in my estimation.